If you need a more accessible version of this website, click this button on the right. Switch to Accessible Site

WARNING

You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Close [x]

Gluten Sensitivity Resources

EBOOKS

The UltraMind Solution Recipes Dr. Mark Hyman (free PDF)

BOOKS 

Grain Brain  by David Perlmutter

Dangerous Grains  by James Braly M.D and Ron Hoggan M.A.

The UltraMind Solution  by Dr. Mark Hyman

Wheat Belly by William Davis MD

The Gluten-Free Gourmet: Living Well Without Wheat by Bette Hagman, New York: Henry Holt and Co., 2000.

More from the Gluten-Free Gourmet: Delicious Dining Without Wheat by Bette Hagman, New York: Henry Holt and Co., 2000.

Celiac Disease: A Hidden Epidemic by Peter H. Green and Rory Jones, New York: HarperCollins Publishers, 2006.

Gluten-Free Diet: A Comprehensive Resource Guide by Shelley Case, Regina, Sk CA: Case Nutrition Consulting, 2003. Available from www.glutenfreediet.ca

Gluten-Free 101: Easy, Basic Dishes Without Wheat by Carol Fenster, Centennial, CO: Savory Palate, 2003.

Wheat-Free, Gluten-Free Cookbook series by Connie Sarros. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2003-4.

***Some of these books are available to borrow from our resource library in the office.

PUBLICATIONS

Glyphosate could be the real the problem.

Journal of Gluten Sensitivity- to subscribe visit Celiac.com

Living Without's Gluten Free and More- www.glutenfreeandmore.com

GET TESTED

Cyrex Laboratories is the premier lab to test for gluten sensitivity. Ask us how you can find out if you are gluten-intolerant using these state-of-the-art tests. Watch an informative 3 minute video on the Gut-Brain connection at www.CyrexLabs.com  

WEBSITES

www.csaceliacs.org

www.gluten.net

www.livingwithout.com

www.glutenfreemall.com

www.celiac.com

www.celiac.org

www.drperlmutter.com

www.elanaspantry.com

www.glutenfreefox.com

http://celiacdisease.net - put out by University of Chicago 

What do I need to avoid?

To avoid gluten, ask about ingredients at restaurants and others' homes, and read food labels. Avoid questionable products until the manufacturer guarantees they are gluten-free. Recheck products regularly as ingredients may change.

Beginning in 2006, food labels in the US must accurately declare in a special "allergy statement" if wheat protein, even in small amounts, is present in an ingredient used in that food. However, this regulation does not pertain to other gluten-containing grains, so labels must still be checked carefully for those sources.

At home, care should be taken to keep gluten-containing foods used by other members of the household from contaminating cooking appliances, food-preparation surfaces, utensils, shared condiment jars, and so forth.

The following list is not complete. Consult with a healthcare professional before making any significant changes to your diet. Grains and grain products to avoid (check ingredients of breads, breading, cereals, coating mixes, crackers, croutons, fried snacks, muffins, pasta, pastries, stuffing, and so on):

  • Barley
  • Bulgar
  • Couscous
  • Farina
  • Faro
  • Flour: any made from grains on this list; bread, brown, durum, granary, strong, and whole-meal flour usually indicate flours containing gluten
  • Kamut
  • Malt
  • Matzo
  • Oats and oat bran*
  • Orzo
  • Panko
  • Rye
  • Seitan
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Triticale
  • Udon
  • Wheat
  • Wheat bran
  • Wheat germ

*While oats contain a substance similar to gluten, modern research has found that eating moderate amounts of oats does not appear to cause problems for people with celiac disease or dermatitis herpetiformis. However, oats may be contaminated with gluten from other grains during processing; therefore using only oat products that have been tested and guaranteed to be free of gluten is recommended.

Other food products and ingredients that may contain gluten (check labels or manufacturer for ingredients from the list above):

  • Ale, beer, stout, lager
  • Broth
  • Brown rice syrup
  • Candy
  • Cloudy lemonade
  • Curry mixes
  • Dried meals
  • Egg substitutes
  • Flavored instant coffee
  • Ginger beer
  • Grain spirits
  • Gravy cubes and mixes
  • Hot chocolate mixes
  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (also called hydrolyzed plant protein or protein hydrolysate) if made from wheat
  • Ice cream
  • Imitation bacon and seafood
  • Licorice
  • Malt vinegar (distilled vinegars are gluten-free)
  • Marinades
  • Mustard powder
  • Nondairy cream substitutes
  • Nuts, dry roasted
  • Prepared meats (bologna, lunch ham, and so on)
  • Rice paper
  • Root beer
  • Roux
  • Sauces and sauce mixes
  • Self-basting poultry
  • Soup and soup mixes
  • Soy sauce and shoyu tamari
  • Starch, when labeled as wheat starch, modified food starch, or vegetable starch
  • Stock cubes
  • Suet in packets
  • Thickeners

Be careful of the following personal and over-the-counter items, which may contain small amounts of gluten:

  • Communion wafers
  • Glue (US-made envelope glue is reportedly gluten-free)
  • Lipstick, gloss, and balms
  • Prescription and over-the-counter medications listing gluten, starch, flour, or dusting powder as excipients
  • Supplements listing gluten, starch, flour, or dusting powder as excipients

Best Bets

  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Bean or pea flours
  • Buckwheat*
  • Corn
  • Flaxseed
  • Fruit, not dried or in commercial pie fillings
  • Meat, poultry, fish not processed with gluten-containing addititives, not breaded, and without gravies or sauces
  • Milk products, not malted or flavored
  • Millet
  • Montina
  • Nut and seed flours
  • Potato flour, potato starch
  • Quinoa
  • Rice and rice bran
  • Sago
  • Sorghum
  • Soy flour
  • Tapioca
  • Teff
  • Vegetables, not creamed or breaded
  • Wild rice

While wheat is one of the major gluten-containing grains, it is important to remember that "wheat-free" does not mean "gluten-free." Make sure to carefully read food labels to determine if an item features gluten-containing items.

Prepare a note card with the foods that you need to avoid and bring this with you when food shopping or dining in restaurants. Communicate your special needs to the waiter or manager so that they can guide you to dishes that do not contain gluten.

Gluten allergies can often start in childhood as a result of early feeding of grains; consider breast-feeding your child for the first six months.

Be careful when buying grains from bulk bins. Make sure that the grains are adequately separated from the gluten-containing grains in order to avoid cross-contamination

Go to top of page